All for Joomla All for Webmasters



The Centre for Anti-Corruption and Open Leadership, CACOL, hereby presents to the general Public, its nominees for CACOL INTEGRITY AWARDS, (CIA) 2017 for scrutiny and assessment in terms of the worthiness and suitability of the awards for the nominated receipts. CACOL is via this medium requesting the public to put forward any reason why any of its nominees for the esteemed awards are deservedly qualified or unqualified.

This is to instill integrity and consensus in the process of picking the winners of the CIA for broad acceptance as it is traditional in CACOL’s tradition.

We implore all and sundry not hesitate to bare their minds and facts for or against any of the nominees to ensured that only the most genuinely deserving persons receive the prestigious awards.



Our organization, the Centre for Anti-Corruption and Open Leadership, CACOL is up till December 28, 2016 known as Coalition Against Corrupt Leaders. CACOL is an aggregate of human rights, community based, and civil society organizations and individuals with anti-corruption and openness in governance agenda across Nigeria. It is a non-political, non-religious, non-sectarian, non-profit organization.


CACOL sets for itself the tasks of promoting accountability, openness in governance and using any available means to cause relevant authorities to probe and bring to book corrupt leaders both in public and private institutions. We also strive to protect interest of persons or groups found to be victims or potential victims of corrupt practices or processes of manipulation and violation of human rights. The decision to embark on the journey was taken in 2007 in view of the need to confront, once and for all the monster that is ravaging all facets of our national life in Nigeria – Corruption.


We decided to do this with and on behalf of millions of hapless Nigerians who have by a choice that is not theirs, fallen or are potential victims of corrupt leaders. This monster torments ordinary people of Nigeria in all areas of their endeavour. We have to confront it with a view to defeating it because it has to be done, not by ghosts or citizens of other nations but by Nigerians who have pride in themselves to be full-blooded Nigerians. Our promotion and pursuance of ‘open leadership’ is hinged on our belief that it will facilitate transparency and accountability in governance while also plugging the holes of corruption.


Due to the endemic corruption that is ravaging our county with many of our former men and women of integrity dipping their hands into the pot of sleaze, CACOL sees the urgent need to encourage the few corruption fighters, both living and dead, in order to serve as catalyst to other corruption fighters to be resolute in their fight against the menace in Nigeria, hence the justification for the CACOL INTEGRITY AWARDS (CIA)


The Awards which was conceived to be given annually seek to appreciate the contributions of some individuals to the anti-corruption fight in the country. There are six (6) different categories:

  1. Hero of Integrity Award: This category of award is for persons who are still in active service with the opportunity of engaging in corrupt practices but resist being influenced by privileges at their disposal.
  2. Icon of Integrity Award: This award is for persons who have remained consistent in the fight against corruption and never wavered for a minimum of ten (10) years.
  3. Symbol of Integrity Award: This category of award is conferred on persons who have passed through public and private life without corruption blemish.
  4. Legend of Integrity Award: This award is conferred on persons, either living or dead, whose name or personality has become a reference point when discussing the crusade against corruption.
  5. Martyr of Integrity Award: This category of award is conferred on persons who died fighting corruption and protecting goodness.
  6. Integrity Man of the Year Award: This is conferred on persons that contributed something significant in the fight against corruption in a particular year.

For the maiden edition of CACOL Integrity awards, the following persons were conferred the awards.



  1. Late Chief Ganiyu Oyesola Fawehinmi Legend of Integrity
  2. Professor Tan David-West Symbol of Integrity
  3. Alhaji Lateef Jakande                                     Symbol of Integrity
  4. Razaq Bamidele Hero of Integrity
  5. Corporal Azeez Arogundade Hero of Integrity



  1. Late Pa. Anthony Enahoro                         Symbol of Integrity
  2. Tunji Braithwaite Symbol of Integrity
  3. (Mrs.) Keziah Awosika                                   Symbol of Integrity
  4. Primate Olapade Agoro Icon of Integrity
  5. Dipo Fashina Icon of Integrity
  6. Late Com. Baba Omojola             Legend of Integrity


For this year’s edition, the following persons who have demonstrated sufficient resistance against corruption have been nominated to be conferred with the CACOL INTEGRITY AWARDS (CIA), 2017. The award ceremony is billed for the first week of September, 2017 when the 10 year Ann

  • Mr Ibrahim Magu             Integrity Man of the Year
  • Comrade Hassan Sumonu             Symbol of Integrity
  • Christopher Kolade             Legend of Integrity
  • (Mrs.) Sophie Oluwole             Symbol of Integrity
  • Festus Iyayi (Post Humus)                                      Martyr of Integrity
  • Eskor Toyo (Post Humus)                                        Legend of Integrity
  • Mr Omoyele Sowore Hero of Integrity
  • Late Barr. Alao Aka-Bashorun (Post Humus) Martyr of Integrity
  • Late Com. Barr. Kanmi Ishola-Osobu (Post Humus) Legend of Integrity
  • Babajide Kolade-Otitoju Icon of Integrity


While counting on the unbiased and honest comments, critiques or support from the public in this process, we give our profound appreciations for the anticipated contributions of all and sundry.


Yours in service to humanity

CIA Logo

Debo Adeniran

Executive Chairman,

Centre for Anti-Corruption and Open Leadership, CACOL




Comments are closed.